Solo travel, and why nothing beats it.

Have you ever had an allergic reaction? Maybe you get some hives, your face swells a little..you get a little itchy..

Back in 2008-2009 I starts breaking out in hives, and to my knowledge, I had no allergies. Not even environmental. So I took some zyrtec and it would go away and I’d move on. After a few weeks of it happening consistently, I really started taking notice and making changes to try to avoid the itchiness. I changed my soap. I changed my detergent. I watched what I ate and kept track of it. I stopped wearing perfumes, stopped wearing makeup, I even went as far as making my own deodorant. I even bought a natural moisturizer for after my showers as well.

None of this helped, and I started going to doctor after doctor who would give me test after test and medication after medication. I was told it was an allergic reaction and after about a year of constant hives and numerous doctor visits and endless copays and multiple ER visits, I was loosing hope. No one had any idea what I was allergic to and all of the medications, including steroids were making me gain weight at an alarming rate. Even when I took the medications, my face would swell, my joints would swell, I’d break out in hives and I’d get what I call ‘brain fog’ where I’d become totally loopy and useless and massively exhausted. I started sleeping for 14-16 hrs per day. My job was suffering, my relationships were suffering, and my life in general.

I had no idea what was going on with me but I was desperate. I did tons of research and found that some people would have these symptoms then find out they were allergic to something ridiculous like the coolant in their refrigerator that no one would ever think to check. So, yes it was ridiculous but I had a glimmer of hope. I decided I needed to get out of my house and see if I would still break out and suffer. Instead of saying with a friend or relative or even going out of state I decided I was going to go to Mexico and completely seclude myself! I was so desperate!

I left less than a week later and I stayed at the Iberostar Grand Paraiso. I was nervous, excited, anxious and incredibly grateful that I had a job that allowed me to do something like this. Little did I know, it was going to be the best week of my life..to this day.

When I arrived, I hopped on y bus transfer and quickly made friends with the driver. He dropped me off and I check in to my gorgeous ocean view jr suite, I was living it up! I set up a bath to be drawn by my butler while I went down and found some food.

Have you been to an all inclusive resort in Mexico, or any island for that matter? The choices of food and restaurants is absolutely insane. When you travel with others, you have to take what they want to eat into consideration and kind of negotiate, hoping you get your pick. Not when you travel alone! All inclusive vacations are really about indulging to be honest, and the bet way to indulge is to indulge in what you want, when you want! I quickly realized that I was in heaven! LOL!!

I got back to my room and took my bath and changed into some comfy clothes to go explore I started breaking out in hives again but I didn’t even care. I just kept walking and exploring. It was the first time I was able to stand the itching and uncomfortableness.

The next day, I woke up to silence..at 10am. Silence. The most amazing sound in the world is no sounds a tall. At least to me. But, we’ll get into that in a later post. I went to breakfast where I wanted to go, then I went to lay on the beach. Not the pool, because I didn’t want to lay by the pool. It was all about me and what I wanted and when I wanted it. I could get used to it! I quickly realized I was having the best lazy time of my life! I had lunch when I wanted, where I wanted. I decided I was going to take a tour the next day and I didn’t have to ask if the other person/people wanted to go or worry if they wanted to do a different tour.

I would still get my hives during my trip and I would still swell. But, I was on my own and didn’t have to worry about anyone or anything other than myself and my needs.

You see, I feel like as a species we become so wrapped up in work, life, others lives, we take care of other people and their needs and we tend to forget that we have needs. Between our 40 hour work weeks, our relationships, friendships, families, school, hobbies, kids, stress, our boss, coworkers and the list goes on…we forget that our wants and needs, need to be taken care of too.

Yes, I took a relaxing and exorbitant vacation, but the same would go for backpacking across Europe, or even South America. You go where you want, when you want. I did this too, and I will post about my trip to Amsterdam later! I have tons of awesome content planned and that will definitely be a part of it!

So, the trip didn’t help my hives and swells (as I call them) and now, in 2017 I still suffer from the condition but now I know I don’t have an allergy..I have a mast cell disease and my thyroid plays a huge roll in the chronic illness. I will definitely post about what I have gone through with this condition as well as what I know and maybe I will be able to help someone else, but for now I am going to end it here.

Thinking about traveling solo? Do it. go where you want. Clear your head. Take care of yourself. The world will be a totally different place when you do. Look at things from another point of view. You won’t regret it and you’ll thank me later, I promise!!

2 thoughts on “Solo travel, and why nothing beats it.

Leave a Reply

