What the hell is a vagabond, anyway?!

[vag·a·bond]
noun
1. a person who wanders from place to place without a home or job.
adjective
1. having no settled home.
verbarchaic
1. wander about as or like a vagabond.

Instagram was just starting to become popular (2011-ish?) and I wanted to be a part of it. The cool usernames and the artsy photos. The new ‘hashtag’ thing everyone was using. I needed a username that would not only standout and make people think, but also describe me perfectly.

At the time I had no idea who I was, except for the fact that I loved to travel. I was working for a well known travel company which afforded me the ability to travel the world for dirt cheap. I was traveling somewhere new sometimes every few weeks but usually every few months. Wanderlust hit me hard.

I started thinking about what word I could use to describe me perfectly, but also show that I love to travel and loved the nomad life. Nomad seemed too cliché, and didn’t feel right. I knew I wanted one word, you know, like Cher.

It took about an hour of thinking, and it hit me like an anvil was thrown at me!

VAGABOND!

It was perfect. I heard it before, knew what it meant and knew it was perfect. I had no idea where I was going in life but knew I wanted to travel and end up in new, exotic places. I had no idea how I was going to get there but knew I would. I had to put a little spin on it, to make it mine so I added the “ish” and then realized I may be on to something. It was like I had had an epiphany!

I did some checking and at the time, there was another person using the name vagabondish for their username so I added an extra ‘G’ LOL. And so that’s it. That’s how I became Vaggabondish. Soon after, more and more forms of social media would launch and of course, I’d join them all as..you guessed it..Vaggabondish LOL!

Here I am, 6-7 years later and I have never once changed my username (Any of them for that matter) and I still love to travel, and still have no idea where the hell I am going in life. I know a little more than I did then, but I put lots of emphasis on the words “a little’ LOL. We’ll get more into that later 😉


Leave a Reply

